The Dodo is the digital media brand for animal people.

At The Dodo, we’re committed to creating visually compelling, entertaining, highly shareable animal videos and stories.

We’re a halo brand for everyone who loves animals ­­ from people who are obsessed with their pets all the way to committed animal advocates. We want our audience to connect with animals through our stories, and feel empowered to help where help is needed.

The Dodo was founded on the observations that animal content is among the most widely shared on social media and that people care about the welfare of animals more than ever before.

We’re leveraging the viral potential of animal content and linking it up to a progressive movement that’s becoming more mainstream every day. The Dodo is a mission-driven brand creating content to embody a cause we’re passionate about.

Our philosophy is simple: tell stories that capture the unique ability of animals to tap into a wide range of human emotions.

Our emotional approach to content engages and motivates people ­­ with the overarching goal of making caring about animals a mainstream, viral, social cause. We’re committed to looking at the world through animals’ eyes, and engaging our audience through a combination of fun, authentic, meaningful content that helps pave the way for progress.

The Dodos

  • Izzie Lerer Founder and Chief Creative Officer

    Izzie is Founder and Chief Creative Officer of The Dodo. She received her PhD in Philosophy from Columbia University, where she focused on animal ethics and human/animal relationships. She has a shrine in her bedroom dedicated to her childhood gerbil, Eugene.

  • YuJung Kim President

    YuJung is President of The Dodo. Her prior experiences span the realms of digital media, international expansion, and private equity. She aspires to go where the puffin goes.

  • Colin Sterling Head of Product

    Colin Sterling is Head of Product at The Dodo. Before that he spent 8 years at the Huffington Post. His canine obsession began with the family dog, a wildly gifted German Shepherd/Belgian Shepherd mix named after Stokely Carmichael.

  • Jacob Krushel Director of Business Operations

    Jacob is Director of Business Operations at The Dodo. He worked at Bloomberg LP, and then Lerer Hippeau Ventures as Operations Coordinator before joining The Dodo. Jacob grew up with Portuguese Water Dogs...before the Obamas, thank you very much.

  • Joanna Zelman Executive Editor

    Joanna is Executive Editor of Video at The Dodo. She was previously with The Huffington Post, working internationally as a Front Page Editor. She enjoys scuba diving with jellyfish, and has been chased by a weird number of birds.

  • Katy Brink Executive Editor

    Katy Brink is Executive Editor of Written at The Dodo. She previously worked at The Huffington Post, where she covered entertainment, politics and data journalism. She hopes one day to foster a dog she doesn't end up adopting.

  • Emily Pelleymounter Creative Director of Video

    Emily is Creative Director of Video at The Dodo. She was previously working as a freelance video editor in London before moving to New York. Emily has never had a cat, but feels like she does because she's seen every single cat video in the world.

  • Samir Mezrahi Head of Social

    Samir is Head of Social at The Dodo. He worked at BuzzFeed previously, where he also led the Social Team. His oldest memory is of him running up his backyard swing-set ladder away from his pet dog, Tiger.

Zainab Akande Elizabeth Claire Alberts Andrei Alupului Caitlin Anders Ryan Barrentine Faith Bernstein Mark Bisi Marian Blair Katy Brink Kamilah Bryant Shana Cohen Anita Diamantopoulou Keith Dorsch Kristof Goeser Alex Gottleib Tom Grenier Sam Grossman Eric Larnick Dwayne Lutchna Keren Masser Maggie McCarthy Indiana Meralí Stephen Messenger Mario Orcon Taylor Pedicone Emily Pelleymounter Eli Ralston Cristo Saez Ameena Schelling Sarah Schweig Jessi Stafford Laszlo Toth Ellen Thomas Marti Trgovich Kasandra Vasco Joanna Zelman
Nicole Hendrickson Samir Mezrahi Brian Sung Gabby Taub
Alex Hamile YuJung Kim Jacob Krushel Izzie Lerer Kristen Palasick Rahul Phanindra Sarah Sassoon Colin Sterling Igor Shmukler Ted Walther